Review: Archangel’s Blade

I have been rather rubbish at maintaining a blog; to be honest, even in real-life, when I do not have something to say, I tend to remain quiet. With a review/semi-self-interest-promo blog, I suppose I should get over that ‘I’d rather not say anything hang-up’. I haven’t – hence the sporadic reviews.

Moving on. I do have something to review today.

Singh, Nalini. Archangel’s Blade. London: Gollancz, 2011.

Archangel’s Blade marks a departure from the Raphael-Elena romance of the Guild Hunter series. Count me amongst the fans of Ms Singh’s Changeling series (although that charm had worn thin lately) and not of the Guild Hunters. I rather liked Angel’s Pawn but that was pretty much it.

Archangel’s Blade also departs in many ways from the rest of the Guild Hunter series. And, in my opinion, that is a good thing. Most importantly (to my enjoyment of the book) it moves away from the world-building and plot of the earlier books. No more politicking between angels-vampires-demons (phew!). The romance between Dmitri and Honor is at the forefront and centre, and it is hot. It is the mix of steamy and heart-string-pulling that had me picking up book after book of Ms. Singh’s. I am not talking about only sex (although there is quite a bit of it) but of the connection between two people before they jump into bed that is the bedrock of a good romance.

If there is only one quibble….it has to be the ‘bondage’ bits. Lest that turns anyone off, let me assure you, it is vanilla bondage. Sadly. Vanilla bondage also led to some head-scratching; I did not understand its place in the book. I won’t really go into the whole issue of bondage (see here for an excellent discussion; warning: 18+ only), just that it felt a tad contrived and pointless.

All in all, a good, solid romance with a twist (not particularly innovative but well-done) at the end.

About A. Faris

A. Faris spent her formative years at libraries and scribbling odd tales that somehow always end up romantic. She writes in between running after her son.
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Archangel’s Blade

  1. Dedra Sexson says:

    You have brought up a very great details , thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

